'Star Wars: Force Awakens' First Ever to Cross $900 Million Domestically
With an estimated $1.76 million yesterday, Star Wars: The Force Awakens has become the only film to cross $900 million domestically and it has achieved that milestone in only fifty days. In addition to this watershed moment, by the end of today, Saturday, February 6, Star Wars is expected to become only the third film in history to cross the $2 billion mark worldwide and it will have done so in only 53 days. Considering how quickly Force Awakens has achieved these accomplishments, putting them into any kind of comparable context is nearly impossible.

It took Star Wars only 20 days to beat the previous all-time domestic record of $760.5 million held by Avatar. It took Avatar not only 318 days to achieve that number, but two separate releases. As for the worldwide number, Star Wars and Avatar are the only two films to actually cross $2 billion worldwide upon their initial release while it took Titanic two separate releases to cross $2 billion.

Quoted in a press release issued by Disney on Friday morning, Alan Horn, Chairman, The Walt Disney Studios, said, "This is a historic moment for Star Wars, for Lucasfilm, and for Disney, and all of us here are extremely gratified to be a part of this journey with fans around the world who have made Star Wars: The Force Awakens such an extraordinary success. The film's achievements are truly astounding, and it's our great honor to relaunch this cinematic galaxy not only for all the devoted decades-long fans but for a new generation who will keep the Star Wars legacy alive for many years to come."

As for that legacy, a new Star Wars movie releases this year with the standalone feature Rogue One: A Star Wars Story releasing on December 16, 2016. The Star Wars Saga will find its next entry, Star Wars: Episode VIII, arriving in theaters on December 15, 2017.

Through February 5, Star Wars: The Force Awakens has earned an estimated $900.8 million domestically and $1.0972 billion internationally, for a current global total of $1.998 billion.

Just below are the top five record holders both domestically and worldwide, click on the provided links for a look at the full charts.

ALL-TIME DOMESTIC (full chart here)

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) - $900,831,469
  • Avatar (2009) - $760,507,625
  • Titanic (1997) - $658,672,302
  • Jurassic World (2015) - $652,270,625
  • Marvel's The Avengers (2012) - $623,357,910

ALL-TIME WORLDWIDE (full chart here)

  • Avatar (2009) - $2.788 billion
  • Titanic (1997) - $2.1868 billion
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) - $1.998 billion
  • Jurassic World (2015) - $1.6704 billion
  • Marvel's The Avengers (2012) - $1.5196 billion

Discuss this story with fellow Box Office Mojo fans on Facebook. On Twitter, follow us at @boxofficemojo and author Brad Brevet at @bradbrevet.